Warning: session_start(): open(/home/je380864/.system/tmp/sess_enru0csfqpemfaf7g6m142sri6, O_RDWR) failed: Disk quota exceeded (122) in /home/je380864/nflmlb.club/www/wp-content/plugins/wpgrabber/init.php on line 13
Basketball Hall of Fame – Kobe, Duncan, KG lead Class of 2020 finalists | SportNews

Basketball Hall of Fame – Kobe, Duncan, KG lead Class of 2020 finalists


Recognizing that the Class of 2020 could be one of the most star-studded ever, the Basketball Hall of Fame has streamlined the induction process for this year. The selection committee cut the number of finalists from the North American and Women’s committees in half, and is passing on inducting new members for its direct-elect committees with the exception of the International Committee, instead putting the focus on a group that is expected to include Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett and the late Kobe Bryant.

The finalists were announced at All-Star Weekend, and the full Class of 2020 will be unveiled in April and then enshrined in the Hall of Fame in August.

Upcoming Basketball Hall of Fame schedule

April 4, 2020: Full class announced
Aug. 28-30, 2020: Hall of Fame enshrinement weekend

Basketball Hall of Fame news

• Chris Bosh ‘disappointed’ not to be 2020 Hall finalist
• Kobe, Duncan, Garnett headline 2020 Hall finalists
• Bill Russell accepts Hall of Fame ring after 44 years
• ‘Always about love’: Divac leads 2019 Hall inductees

North American Committee finalists

Kobe Bryant

Stats: 25.0 PPG, 5.2 RPG, 4.7 APG, 1.4 SPG in 20 seasons.

Accolades: 18-time All-Star, 15-time All-NBA, 12-time All-Defensive, 4-time All-Star MVP, 2-time Finals MVP, 2008 NBA MVP and 5-time NBA champion.

  • Kobe Bryant never stopped trying to inspire

  • Lakers legend Kobe Bryant: Remembrances and reaction

Tim Duncan

Stats: 19.0 PPG, 10.8 RPG, 3.0 APG, 2.2 BPG in 19 seasons.

Accolades: 15-time All-Star, 15-time All-NBA, 15-time All-Defensive, 1997-98 Rookie of the Year, 2-time NBA MVP, 3-time Finals MVP, 5-time NBA champion.

  • Why Tim Duncan is the most influential player of his time

  • Is Tim Duncan the greatest defender in NBA history?

Kevin Garnett

Stats: 17.8 PPG, 10.0 RPG, 3.7 APG, 1.4 BPG in 21 seasons.

Accolades: 15-time All-Star, 9-time All-NBA, 12-time All-Defensive, 2003 MVP, 2004 NBA MVP, 2008 Defensive Player of the Year, 2008 NBA champion.

  • Kevin Garnett leaves as his era’s most influential NBA star

  • Celtics to retire Kevin Garnett’s No. 5 jersey

Eddie Sutton

Stats: 806-326 as Division I head coach, 26 NCAA tournament appearances.

Accolades: 2-time AP College Coach of the Year, enshrined in College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2011.

Rudy Tomjanovich

Stats: 527-413 in 13 seasons as head coach; 51-39 in postseason.

Accolades: 2-time NBA champion with Houston Rockets, 1997 All-Star Game coach.

Women’s Committee finalists

Tamika Catchings

Stats: 16.1 PPG, 7.3 RPG, 3.3 APG in 15 WNBA seasons.

Accolades: 10-time WNBA All-Star, 12-time All-WNBA, 2011 WNBA MVP, 2012 WNBA champion, 1998 NCAA champion

  • Tamika Catchings was a one-of-a-kind competitor

  • Tamika Catchings’ hearing loss not an impairment

Kim Mulkey

Stats: Nearly 600 wins in 19+ seasons as Baylor head coach, 18 NCAA tournament appearances, three NCAA championships

Accolades: 2-time AP College Basketball Coach of the Year, inducted into Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame (as a player) in 2000

  • Baylor, Kim Mulkey complete long road back

  • Mulkey fastest Division I coach to 600 career wins

Barbara Stevens

Stats: More than 1,000 wins in 42+ seasons as head coach, 30 Division II NCAA tournament appearances, 2016 Division II champion

Accolades: 5-time WBCA National Division II Coach of the Year, inducted into Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in 2006

  • Bentley’s Barbara Stevens gets 1,000th coaching win

International Committee nominations

Patrick Baumann
Tal Brody
Jackie Chazalon
Alphonso Ford
Giuseppe Giergia
Semen Khalipski
Vladimir Kondrashin
Toni Kukoc
Marcos Leite
Shimon Mizrahi
Aldo Ossola
Amaury Pasos
Dan Peterson
Manuel Sainz
Togo Soares
Ranko Zeravica

2020 Basketball Hall of Fame Award Winners

Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Tim Nugent
• Founder of National Wheelchair Basketball Association
• Served as commissioner for first 25 years

2020 Curt Gowdy Media Award (Print)
Michael Wilbon

• 30-year Washington Post Columnist
• Covered every NBA Finals since 1987

2020 Curt Gowdy Media Award (Electronic)
Mike Breen

• 28-year NBA broadcaster
• Lead voice for ESPN, ABC NBA broadcasts

2020 Curt Gowdy Transformative Media Award
Inside the NBA on TNT

• Winner of 9 Emmy awards
• Show spans more than 30 years of NBA coverage

2020 Curt Gowdy Insight Media Award
Jim Gray

• 40+ years of broadcasting experience
• Winner of 11 Emmy Awards

Recent Hall of Fame classes

2019: Al Attles, Carl Braun, Charles “Chuck” Cooper, Vlade Divac, Bill Fitch, Bobby Jones, Sidney Moncrief, Jack Sikma, Tennessee A&I teams of 1957-59, Wayland Baptist University teams of 1984-82, Teresa Weatherspoon, Paul Westphal

2018: Ray Allen, Maurice Cheeks, Charles “Lefty” Driesell, Grant Hill, Jason Kidd, Steve Nash, Tina Thompson, Dino Radja, Charlie Scott, Ora Mae Washington, Rod Thorn, Rick Welts, Katie Smith

2017: Robert Hughes, Tracy McGrady, Bill Self, Rebecca Lobo, Muffet McGraw, Mannie Jackson, Tom Jernstedt, Jerry Krause, Zack Clayton, Nick Galis, George McGinnis

2016: Zelmo Beaty, Darell Garretson, Allen Iverson, Tom Izzo, John McClendon, Yao Ming, Shaquille O’Neal, Cumberland Posey, Jerry Reinsdorf, Sheryl Swoopes

Source: espn.com

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Warning: Unknown: open(/home/je380864/.system/tmp/sess_enru0csfqpemfaf7g6m142sri6, O_RDWR) failed: Disk quota exceeded (122) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/home/je380864/.system/tmp) in Unknown on line 0